Go with that……..

“Today, oh today, nuthin’ seems to be goin’ my way

Tryin’ to keep my sanity, it’s gettin’ the best of me today – yes today

Yes, I know the one who said I’d be safe from all harm

Just sometimes what I see I let it get the best of me like today – yes, today.” ~ Today (Avery*Sunshine)

 

Image

 

If you haven’t heard that song, and you’re into NeoSoul, you gotta hear that. I posted that to make a point though.

It’s funny to me how many “Dr. Phils” have popped up on social networking these days. So many positive quotes, inspirational messages, virtual high fives and fist bumps. If the first thing you do when you wake up in the morning is grab your phone or tablet and check Facebook, Twitter, or even Instagram, you’ll get your fill of all this…..MUSH! It’s as if everyone woke up in the same mood, woke up to the same sunrise, same birds chirping and singing, same kids running into the room screaming “good morning mommy & daddy”. It’s like a scene out of “Leave It To Beaver”. Almost enough to make you throw up in your mouth a lil’ bit. We all don’t get that scene in the mornings. I know I don’t. I DEFINITELY didn’t. And I’m not going to pretend I did. What grinds my gears even more is that if you tell people that you’re having a horrible morning, they look at you as if you don’t know God. Oh, I’m VERY familiar with God, but that doesn’t make me any less human. I’m having a BAD MORNING. GET OVER IT! And you know what????

IT’S OK!!!!

Yes, it’s OK to have a bad morning, bad afternoon, bad evening – BAD DAY! Don’t let people make you feel WORSE because they don’t understand your plight. You could be going through the choicest hell, and folk will talk to you as if none of that matters. “Oh keep your head up, it’ll be OK”, or “Shake it off!” Man, some of us have to deal with this hell ALL DAY! They go HOME to hell. They WORK IN hell. Sometimes, it’s OK for all you “Sally Sunshines” to just say “I’m sorry. I’ll pray for you” – and actually DO it. Don’t minimize the issues of others. Sometimes, we just gotta “go through”. For those that have to go through, go through. Take all the time you need. Eventually, you’ll get through. Don’t let people minimize your feelings. They don’t know what you have to deal with. And to be honest, some really don’t care. 

So, yeah, I had a pretty bad morning, and I just don’t feel like dealing with people, so I’m just gonna go in my corner and deal with my feelings. Eventually, it’ll go away…………………………………………maybe.

Leave a Reply

