If you ain’t got nuthin’ nice to say……………………

So, yeah, my grandmother told me that some years ago. She ALSO told me that “when you’re TRULY tired of dealing with what makes you tired, you’ll stop dealing with it”….

Yeah, go ahead and take a minute to marinate on that…I’ll wait…

Get it? No? You will later. I digress…

It’s amazing to me how negative my surroundings have become, and when I say “surroundings”, it’s not immediate. It’s more of my “virtual” surroundings. You know – Facebook, Twitter, etc. I don’t have too many social networking pages. I actually share my Facebook page with my wife and I’m not as active on Twitter as I used to be, but that will all change very soon (follow me @SmokinB3, lol). I’ve noticed that people get pretty ballsy when it comes to how they feel when they’re typing. I never knew I had so many angry acquaintances. And it may not be that they’re ANGRY in a sense, but that they know in the comfort of their own homes/offices behind their keyboards, they have the courage, the gumption, the gall – the BALLS – to say what they want to say, how they want to say it, and to whomever they want to say it to without the immediate threat of a beat down. My good friend and my son’s Godmother, S.G., calls it “tough typing”, and that’s truly what it is. But I don’t understand – WHERE IS ALL OF THIS HOSTILITY COMING FROM?!?

Really!! I’ve read statuses from women bashing their child’s parent(s) to just straight calling people out. Now, these are things that I’m 97% sure wouldn’t happen if a face-to-face encounter would occur. So if you’re not willing to make your feelings known face to face, why do it over social media? Because what happens is most folk will get “all in their feelings” and ALL KINDS of things are said. Problem is, when you hit that “POST” or “SEND” button, it’s over. You’re done. Regrets be damned. Not only that, but your ENTIRE FRIENDS LIST knows how you feel. Now, I’m pretty sure you didn’t want your old nemesis from high school to know that your now EX boyfriend gave you the “clap”, or that the biggest gossip you know (who just so happens to be connected to you) knows your most intimate secrets, but when you don’t “think before you type”, that’s what happens. You have gotta be more careful. And then to……….

…what’s it gonna prove? That you know how to correctly spell profanities? Some things are better left UNSAID. Now I understand that we all have differences of opinion and that in some things, we will disagree, but say your peace RESPECTFULLY and log off. No need to argue. It proves nothing. Trust me – I know…I’m married. You just have that moment that whatever you’re thinking ain’t nice, and you wanna say it, but you know that’ll it’ll be ARMAGEDDON if you say it…….so you DON’T say it. Just let it roll. If you ain’t got nuthin’ nice to say, don’t say nuthin’ at ALL!!

Leave a Reply

